Are We Starting From The Beginning Or What?

I’ve loved creating things for some time. It’s why I write and make podcasts and try my hand at whatever entrepreneurial scheme I find. But I’ve come to a point where I need to do something that actually has a growing market share and pays consistently. Which is why I’m teaching myself to code.

My younger brother, Neil, is computer obsessed. He’s been looking for a part-time job, but there isn’t much for teenagers (thanks a hell of a lot, Grandma and the minimum wage). You’ll hear from him sometimes, too.

We decided that we were going to learn how to code together. I set up this blog 1) to keep us accountable, and 2) so that people could follow if they wanted (maybe it’s encouraging or something).


 

I have no idea how we should start. So, as a member of a top secret, super-special Facebook group, I thought I’d ask around for opinions of what we should tackle first. The consensus was to focus on Python. Then it’s on to┬áJava, C++, C#/Unity, Swift, SQL/DevOps, and Ruby on Rails. I’m sure I’ll have to call an audible at some point, but that’s the loose schedule for now.

If you want to follow along with us, we’re using Codecademy (and maybe supplementing it with Free Code Camp). So here we go… 13 hours of Python!

Leave a Reply

